Prom Proposal

Published October 16, 2012 by wordalpha

My junior year in high school was a really sucky year but my immature mind thought my boyfriend at the time made everything sparkly and amazing. Boy did that go south and have a baby. Gregory was a year ahead of me and so arrogant that it was astounding. Although he had no reason to be arrogant, he thought he was the beez knees and the best thing since sliced bread. He was far from it.

Now that my ranting is over; Gregory’s senior prom was coming up and although we had been dating a year and were very comfortable with one another I still expected him to ask me. We didn’t go to the same school and we didn’t live in the same town so you would think asking be required. He pretty much just figured we would go and he had to put no effort at all to into being romantic.

I also knew I would be accompanying him to his prom but still there are specifications that must be fulfilled. It’s polite. Now I was tired of waiting so I finally asked him when he was going to ask me. Apparently he got started right away. When I came over to his house a weekend later to stay over he  informed me there were five oragami hearts hidden in his room and I was supposed to find them.

The motherfucker actually expected me to get down on my knees and search his closet and shoe shelf.

Once I found all five hearts that had a P.R.O.M.? on them I opened them to find some real cheesy stuff. No man in his right mind would write that crap. Yes, I did want him to ask me, and yes I did want him to be romantic but god no did I want Elliot from Bedazzled crying about the sunset and dolphin safe tuna.

For crying out loud men, be romantic but not cheesy. Be resourcful not lazy. This ruined my prom experience so I didn’t go my senior year in high school. Ladies, you will be glad to know six months later we broke up. I also realize this may be a funny thing to read because it didn’t happen to you…I would laugh to but I sure as hell wasn’t laughing then.

Leave a comment

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.